Last Letter From Scarif

My Dearest Beru,

By the time you read this, I will be long gone.  In fact, I’m hoping Jyn sends this along with the DS-1 plans before we’re overrun by the Empire.  Life hasn’t been easy for us, has it?  Twenty years on, it still kills me that you married Owen Lars, but I can’t blame you, what with me gone on one mission or another for the Rebellion all the time.  If anything, what I do is for you, and the family I wish we’d become.

I’ve been busy, to put it mildly.  Since I last saw you ten years ago?  I helped train and advise Saw Gerrera’s insurgents.  Mon Mothma had me take some youngsters under my wing, and we established a network of intelligence assets within the Empire, specifically among its vainglorious pilots.  Most recently, at the behest of Lord Bail, I commanded Leia’s personal protective detail, which was by far the most difficult assignment I ever had.  Every time I was able to take leave, of course, I wanted to return to Tatooine.  And you.  Instead, not wanting to upend your new life with my sudden reappearance, I just took on another assignment.

By the Force, we had such plans when we were younger!  We spoke so often about departing for some barren planet in the Outer Rim to start our family.  We would be beholden to no one, and nothing but the seasons and whatever plot of uncooperative rocky land we decided to cultivate.  I know it was far from easy, after I felt the rebellion’s pull and flew off for training on Alderaan.  I know it killed our dream – but darling, please know that it was for us, for a better future, free from a Sith’s tyranny.

Which leads me to Scarif.  I couldn’t let that damn young hothead Andor go it alone, which is why I led a half dozen members of Leia’s detail onto that shuttle.  I trained them; I trust them, and they trust me.  Lord Bail Organa gave me his blessing, and a bag of proton grenades, before we took off.  It really is that simple.  For what it’s worth, a wristband activated hologram of you has been with me since before you married Owen.  Probably not the healthiest thing, but a man has to cling to something from his home world – and for better or worse, darling, I cling to you.  Between the two religious freaks from Jedha, no orders besides “fight,” and a wishy-washy defector, I knew this would be a one-way trip.

I do this for what we could have been, what you and Owen are, and for the free Republic in which your nosy nephew will grow up.  I have and always will love you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

